Funding Partners

SBDI was developed as a component of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Models for Change Mental Health/Juvenile Justice Action Network. The SBDI model was initially funded and overseen by the Judicial Branch’s Court Support Services Division (CSSD) and the Department of Children and Families (DCF). Later the State Department of Education (SDE) and the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) joined as funding partners. The Child Health and Development Institute were model co-developers and have served as the SBDI Coordinating Center since SBDI inception.

  • The Connecticut State Department of Education is the administrative arm of the Connecticut State Board of Education. Through leadership, curriculum, research, planning, evaluation, assessment, data analyses and other assistance, the Department helps to ensure equal opportunity and excellence in education for all Connecticut students. The Department is responsible for distributing funds to all Connecticut public school districts. The Department also operates the Connecticut Technical Education and Career System.


  • The Court Support Services Division (CSSD) oversees pretrial services, family services, divorce and domestic violence, probation supervision of adults and juveniles as well as juvenile residential centers including Juvenile Detention. CSSD also administers a network of statewide contracted community providers that deliver treatment and other support services.



  • The Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services is responsible for providing a wide range of treatment services to adults. This includes inpatient hospitalization, outpatient clinical services, 24-hour emergency care, day treatment, psychosocial and vocational rehabilitation, restoration to competency and forensic services (including jail diversion programs), outreach services for persons with serious mental illness who are homeless, and comprehensive, community-based mental health treatment and support services. DMHAS funds and monitors hundreds of community-based treatment programs, and four state inpatient treatment facilities (Connecticut Valley Hospital, Greater Bridgeport Community Mental Health Center and Connecticut Mental Health Center).